Fire Season Begins

As of Friday, July 1st, the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) has declared the beginning of fire season on forest lands in northeast Oregon. This includes private, state, county, municipal, and Tribal lands in Baker, Umatilla, Union, and Wallowa Counties within the Northeast Oregon Forest Protection District, which encompasses approximately 2 million acres of protected lands. Fire season is officially declared when fire danger moves to “Moderate.”

Information on current restrictions across the Northeast Oregon District can be found by calling (541) 975-3027 or visiting For more details, see the Summer 2022 Issue of The Blue Mountain Forester.

Have a great summer and stay safe!

A permit is required for all open debris burning when fire season is in effect. Photo: Jacob Putney

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: